RSS

The Lives That We Touch

27 Jun

Tuesday, 06/27/17

A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle. ~ Erin Majors

 

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the people we meet and the lives that we touch.

Mostly, I’ve been thinking about relationships and the various connections and links we have with people. I’ve been thinking about the way people weave themselves in and out of our lives. And how rarely we notice the subtle impact they have on us until they leave.

I don’t believe we meet people on accident. I am a firm believer in that. I think people come into our lives exactly when we need them to. Like my ex-husband who taught me all about a broken heart and taught me to stop placing all my happiness on one person. He was a lesson learned on so many levels. But most importantly, he taught me that looks are deceiving and one needs to look into the heart and soul of the person.

My 10th grade history teacher, Mr. Sanford whom was one of the kindest and most caring human beings I have ever known, who taught me to be relentless in the pursuit of my goals, and taught me to laugh in the face of all pain. And to never give up! Mr. Sanford was always smiling and laughing. He had a way of filling your heart with hope!

A very close cousin/sister who taught me empathy and understanding even when she was in her final days of battling terminal cancer, she still managed to lift people spirits and hearts, even just days before she passed.

The woman in front of me at the grocery store with tired eyes and two kids that taught me patience and wonder as I watched her let her toddler individually place each item on the belt.

I’ve been thinking about endings. And goodbyes. And letting go. And how people come into our lives at different parts of our story — how they come in and stay for a scene, a chapter, or the majority of our book. I’ve been ruminating over the short-lived relationships and how we establish all of these invisible connections with people, just to see them go. It doesn’t seem fair. If given any wish in the world, I’d wish for the ability to wrap my arms around every single person I care about, around every single life that’s touched me, and keep them right here with me.

But as far as selfishness goes, I don’t even come close. One of life’s biggest, suckiest, truths is that we are never given a timeline. People come and go all the time — some relationships are short lived, some last far longer than they should, some stay for a good portion of our lives, while others cruise in and out faster than we could have anticipated. Some people come in into our lives for what feels like a moment, but we are forever changed by their presence, no matter how fleeting.

 

Our books went on sale July 2, 2014.

You can purchase our books at: http://www.amazon.com/ and type the name, Tianna Filley or D.R. Filley, in the search engine, and our books will come up for purchase.

Or you can click on the title of the book below and it will take you directly to that book:

A Love Of A Lifetime

Twisted Tales Collection

Youthful Musings: Poetry of Love and Loss

Shadows of Premonition

Copyright © 2014,2015,2016,2017 Tianna Filley All Rights Reserved
~Do You Hear Her Whispers?~


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 27, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
